

AGENDA

21 February 2019 Concert Noble, Brussels

8:30-9:00	Welcome coffee and registration
9:00-9:15	Opening speech by Cecilia Bonefeld-Dahl Director-General, DIGITALEUROPE
9:15-9:35	EU Commissioner Mariya Gabriel Keynote Speech
	How to boost digital innovation & enable digital scale-ups to thrive?
9:35-9:50	Future Unicorn Award 2019 Ceremony
9:55-10:40	Panel session: Digital Ecosystems How does Europe grow with Digital?
	Moderator : Cecilia Bonefeld-Dahl, Director-General, DIGITALEUROPE
	Speakers: Olaf Koch, CEO, Metro Harald Gruber, Head of Digital Infrastructure Division, Projects Directorate, EIB Lie Junius, Director Public Policy and Government Relations, Google EU Future Unicorn Award winner
10:40-11:15	Coffee break
11:15-11:55	Panel session: Digital Manufacturing Can Europe take global leadership in digital manufacturing? Moderator: Lousewies van der Laan, Digital Ambassador, Nederland ICT Speakers: • Dieter Wegener, Vice–President, Siemens • Carlos Zorrinho, MEP • Carsten Bermig, Cabinet Member of EU Commissioner Bieńkowska
44.55 40.45	
11:55-12:45	Panel session: Sustainability Is digitalisation transforming Europe into a world-class sustainable continent?
	Moderator: Philip Smith, COO, Xynteo & EVP 'Europe Delivers' Programme
	Speakers: Christel Heydemann, PresidentSchneider Electric France Stefaan Vergote, Adviser, DG CLIMA Laurence Tubiana, CEO, European Climate Foundation Future Unicorn Award winner
12:45-13:55	Lunch
13:55-14:00	Kick-off afternoon session by Cecilia Bonefeld-Dahl Director-General, DIGITALEUROPE
14:00-14:15	Lord Ashton, UK Parliamentary Under Secretary
	of State for Digital Culture Media and Sport

of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Responsible tech and the role of Government:

protecting citizens whilst encouraging innovation

Keynote Speech

14:15-14:35	Surprise: artistic performance
14:40-15:20	Panel session: e-Health What are Europe's digital opportunities to foster patient-centric healthcare and improve public health?
	Moderator : Ceri Thompson, Deputy Head of the e-Health Unit in DG CONNECT
	Speakers: • Elena Bonfiglioli, Managing Director, Health and Life Sciences, EMEA, Microsoft • Ioana Gligor, Head of Unit, DG SANTE • Loubna Bouarfa, CEO & Founder, OKRA Technologies
15:20-15:50	Coffee break
15:20-15:50 15:55-16:35	Coffee break Panel session: Artificial Intelligence What regulatory challenges must Europe address to lead the world in human centric AI? Moderator: Danny Gooris, Senior Manager, Oracle Academy EMEA

16:40-17:20

Panel session: EU Leadership beyond 2020 How can the EU take leadership in shaping the digital world towards 2025?

Max Planck Institute for Brain Research

Moderator: Cecilia Bonefeld-Dahl, Director-General, DIGITALEUROPE

Speakers:

- Ambassador Odobescu, Perm. Rep. of Romania to the EU
- Markus Borchert, CEO of Nokia Shanghai Bell and President of Nokia Greater China, NOKIA
- Janne Viskari, Director General, Finnish Population Register Centre
- Future Unicorn Award winner

17:25-17:50

Martin Selmayr, Secretary-General of the European Commission

Keynote Speech

Europe - the digital continent. A state of play.

17:50-18:00

Closing remarks by **Cecilia Bonefeld-Dahl** Director-General, DIGITALEUROPE

18:10-19:00

Cocktail Reception

#MoDigital19 #AStrongerDigitalEurope

KEYNOTE SPEAKERS



Maryia Gabriel EU Commissioner for the Digital Economy & Society



Lord AshtonParliamentary Under Secretary of
State at the Department for Digital,
United Kinadom



Martin Selmayr Secretary-General, European Commission

SPEAKERS



Cecilia Bonefeld-DahlDIGITALEUROPE



Olaf Koch METRO



Harald GruberEuropean Investment Bank



Lie Junius Google



Future Unicorn Award Winner



Lousewies van der Laan Nederland ICT



Dieter Wegener



Carlos Zorrinho MEP



Carsten Bermig European Commission Cabinet Bieńkowska



Philip Smith



Future Unicorn Award Winner



Stefaan Vergote European Commission, DG CLIMA



Laurence Tubiana European Climate Foundation



Christel Heydemann Schneider Electric



Ceri Thompson European Commission, DG CONNECT



Elena BonfiglioliMicrosoft



loana Gligor European Commission, DG SANTE



Loubna Bouarfa OKRA Technologies



Danny GoorisOracle



European Commissior DG CONNECT



Abigail Hing Wen Intel Corporation



Moritz Helmstaedte Max Planck Institute for Brain Research



Cecilia Bonefeld-Dahl DIGITALEUROPE



Luminiţa Teodora Odobescu Permanent Representative of Romania to the EU



Markus Borche Nokia



Future Unicorn Award Winner



Janne ViskariPopulation Register Centre