

DIGITALEUROPE calls on European Parliament to endorse EU-Japan Economic Partnership Agreement

Brussels, 11 December 2018

DIGITALEUROPE has been an active supporter of the EU-Japan Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) since its inception. We urge the European Parliament to adopt this high-standard agreement with no delay and no additional amendments during the plenary session on 12 December in order to allow for a rapid ratification and entry into force of the EPA on 1 February 2019.

"The EU-Japan EPA is an important building block in the EU-Japan relations and a historic milestone in international trade. It will contribute to advancing the economic and societal agendas of Japan and the EU. It will lead to new commercial opportunities by creating a trade zone of 600 million people covering a third of global GDP", commented Cecilia Bonefeld-Dahl, Director-General of DIGITALEUROPE.

"Next to liberalising up to 99% of bilateral trade, the agreement will reinforce economic predictability, which is a valuable advantage now that rules-based trade is being challenged at global level. Moreover, we hope for a speedy finalisation of the adoption procedure for the adequacy decision", she added.

To echo the importance of the strategic collaboration between the EU and Japan, Cecilia Bonefeld-Dahl represented DIGITALEUROPE at the 8th ICT Strategies Workshop in Vienna on 4th December which bore witness to the alignment of values and vision between both partners, paving the way for a continuous and strengthened cooperation on key digital policy areas as well as joint leadership at international level.

At the meeting, Cecilia Bonefeld-Dahl recalled that both partners were in a unique position to advance collaboration on data protection and cross-border data flows. She emphasised the importance to lead together on AI and IoT, to align technical standards and enhance regulatory cooperation as well as developing common R&D projects.

After its adoption, DIGITALEUROPE is hopeful that the EPA will deliver on its promises, ensuring predictability and preventing unnecessary red tape to allow business to reap the benefits of this agreement.

For more information, please contact:

Lionel Sola, Director of Communications and Political Outreach +32 492 25 84 32 or lionel.sola@digitaleurope.org

Sarah Wagner, Senior Policy Manager +32 492 50 90 96 or sarah.wagner@digitaleurope.org



ABOUT DIGITALEUROPE

DIGITALEUROPE represents the digital technology industry in Europe. Our members include some of the world's largest IT, telecoms and consumer electronics companies and national associations from every part of Europe. DIGITALEUROPE wants European businesses and citizens to benefit fully from digital technologies and for Europe to grow, attract and sustain the world's best digital technology companies. DIGITALEUROPE ensures industry participation in the development and implementation of EU policies.

DIGITALEUROPE's members include in total over 35,000 ICT Companies in Europe represented by 66 Corporate Members and 39 National Trade Associations from across Europe. Our website provides further information on our recent news and activities: http://www.digitaleurope.org

DIGITALEUROPE MEMBERSHIP

Corporate Members

Adobe, Airbus, Amazon, AMD, Apple, Arçelik, Bosch, Bose, Brother, Canon, Cisco, Dell, Dropbox, Epson, Ericsson, Fujitsu, Google, Hewlett Packard Enterprise, Hitachi, HP Inc., Huawei, IBM, Intel, JVC Kenwood Group, Konica Minolta, Kyocera, Lenovo, Lexmark, LG Electronics, Loewe, MasterCard, METRO, Microsoft, Mitsubishi Electric Europe, Motorola Solutions, MSD Europe Inc., NEC, Nokia, Nvidia Ltd., Océ, Oki, Oracle, Palo Alto Networks, Panasonic Europe, Philips, Pioneer, Qualcomm, Ricoh Europe PLC, Rockwell Automation, Samsung, SAP, SAS, Schneider Electric, Sharp Electronics, Siemens, Sony, Swatch Group, Tata Consultancy Services, Technicolor, Texas Instruments, Toshiba, TP Vision, VMware, Western Digital, Xerox, Zebra Technologies.

National Trade Associations

Austria: IOÖ Belarus: INFOPARK Belgium: AGORIA Bulgaria: BAIT

Croatia: Croatian Chamber of

Economy
Cyprus: CITEA

Denmark: DI Digital, IT-BRANCHEN

Estonia: ITL Finland: TIF

France: AFNUM, Syntec Numérique,

Tech in France

Germany: BITKOM, ZVEI

Greece: SEPE Hungary: IVSZ

Ireland: TECHNOLOGY IRELAND

Italy: Anitec-Assinform Lithuania: INFOBALT Luxembourg: APSI

Netherlands: Nederland ICT, FIAR

Poland: KIGEIT, PIIT, ZIPSEE

Portugal: AGEFE

Romania: ANIS, APDETIC

Slovakia: ITAS

Slovenia: GZS Spain: AMETIC Sweden: Foreningen Teknikföretagen i Sverige, IT&Telekomföretagen Switzerland: SWICO

Turkey: Digital Turkey Platform, ECID

Ukraine: IT UKRAINE United Kingdom: techUK